NYC take over, new video, EU dates

METAL

Xiu Xiu is happy to announce the premier of a new collaboration with visual artist Danh Vo at the historic and venerable Kitchen in New York City entitled METAL.

Wielding massive hammers, two Thai gold leaf pounders, will work for three hours while Xiu Xiu (Shayna Dunkelman, Ches Smith,Jamie Stewart) plays 36 out 52 randomly selected 5 minute pieces for metal percussion. Changes will be signaled by a fire alarm bell and a new piece will begin. The sound and poly rhythms of the hammering gold against marble will be juxtaposed with gongs, vibraphones, cymbals, bells, crotales, bowls  and rocar.

opening September 27 6-8 with shows Tuesday through Saturday September 30 to October 18th.

____________

KLING KLANG

On September 28 at noon Xiu Xiu will premier a sound installation at Brooklyn Bridge Park.

Using 999 pink vibrating eggs neon duct taped one at a time to the enormous copper sculpture, We the People,  a clanging and sonorous chord will emerge. As the batteries in the eggs die the pitch of the chord will slowly get lower and quieter until it is silent again.

_____________

XIU XIU

Xiu Xiu (Shayna Dunkelman, Jamie Stewart) playing songs from 2002-2004 and 2014 with very special guest yvette

at Glasslands new york

october 18 2014 289 kent brooklyn NYC early show doors at 8

 TICKETS

18+

_____________

NEW VIDEO FOR CINTHYA’S UNISEX by Floren Textier

_______________

EUROPE TOUR DATES!

Tues 28.10.14 IT Gender Bender fest, Bologna @ Lokomotiv (solo experimental set)

thurs 30.10.14 PL Nowa Jerozolima, Warsaw

fri 31.10.14 CZ Podnik, Prague 

sat 01.11.14 AT Kino, Ebensee 

sun 02.11.14 AT WUK, Wien 

mon 03.11.14 CZ Budweiss, Ostinato 

tues 04.11.14 SI Kino Siska, Ljubljana 

wedn 05.11.14 HU GMK Budapest

thurs 06.11.14 SERB Gun Club, Belgrade 

frid 07.11.14 MAC Art Cinema Frosina Skopje

Sat 08.11.14 GR Eightball ClubThessaloniki

sun 09.11.14 GR Six Dogs, Athens

Tue 11.11.14 IT Lecce, arcirubik

Wed 12.11.14 IT Rome, Circolo degli Artisti 

Thu 13.11.14 IT Milan, TBD

Fri 14.11.14 CH – DAMPFZENTRALE, BERN w/ Hidden Cameras

Sat 15.11.14 CH – LE LOCLE, LUX

Sun 16.11.14 FR Clermont Ferrand, Raymond Bar 

Mon 17.11.14 FR Paris, Espace B

Wed 19.11.14 BE Brussels, Autumn Falls Festival, DNA 

Thu 20.11.14 NL Le Guess Who, Utrecht (Swans event)